2018 CCTM Annual Conference


Join us August 2-3 at the University of Denver!

Start your school year right with the CCTM Annual Conference -- this year, in August! Last year's event was a great success, so we're returning to the University of Denver and keeping a similar theme, but moving the conference to dates that will accommodate teachers who haven't been able to attend during the school year.

Plan now to join hundreds of teachers of mathematics from across Colorado for our state’s premiere math education event. This year’s theme is Captivate and Capture Every Student's Potential, and for short we’re again calling it “Captiv8.” To captivate you, we're reaching out to great speakers and exhibitors from across the country, and those details will be announced here in the coming weeks. We hope to see you there!

Conference Program

Thursday, August 2

Friday, August 3

Registration is open!

Sponsors and Exhibitors

CCTM would like to thank the following for their generous support of the CCTM Annual Conference:


Curriculum Associates

Curriculum Associates is sponsoring the time for this year's keynote session.

Carolyn Burtner, Educational Sales Consultant

Luke Wehrman, Educational Sales Consultant

ti logo.jpg

Texas Instruments

Texas Instruments is sponsoring the Punch Bowl Social appetizers & beverages.

Brian Dunnicliffe
(206) 802-4796


Forefront Math

Forefront Math is sponsoring a hospitality beverage cart.

Tamara Mack, Sales Representative
(720) 818-4277


Pearson Education

Pearson is sponsoring the awards ceremony hors d’oeuvres and decorations.

Scott Sayers, Account General Manager

Karen Howard, Account General Manager


University of Northern Colorado - Extended Campus

UNC-Extended Campus is sponsoring the printing of this year's conference programs.

Dr. Jodie Novak, Professor

CCTM would also like to thank this year's conference exhibitors:

CollaboratEd Consulting, Singapore Math, Inc., CPM Educational Program, PhET Interactive Simulations, Pearson, Curriculum Associates, National Geographic Learning/Cengage, Forefront Math, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Texas Instruments, The Math Learning Center, Center for Mathematics and Teaching, ExploreLearning, Didax Educational Resources, Denver Post, ST Math, QuestBotics Inc., Woot Math, NCTM, and TODOS.

CCTM also thanks Brede Exposition Services for their work in setting up our exhibit space.

Getting to the Conference


CCTM is very happy to return the University of Denver for our Annual Conference. DU features an auditorium that seats almost 500 people, classrooms for conference sessions, projectors for presenters, guest wifi, lunch options, and a beautiful academic setting.

There are several ways to get to the conference. We recommend taking the light rail. RTD serves University of Denver Station with the following light rail lines:

  • E Line (Union Station to Lincoln Station)
  • F Line (18th and California to Lincoln Station)
  • H Line (18th and California to Florida Station) 

If you are driving and taking I-25, exit onto University Avenue and head south. Event parking is available on campus for $8 on Friday.

Parking Lot L (Friday Parking): From I-25, exit onto University Blvd and go south to Asbury Ave. Turn right onto Asbury and look for the parking structure on the left. Turn left at Gaylord St. A parking attendant will collect $8. Scan the barcode on the permit to raise the parking gate. Do not park on the 2nd level or in a spot labeled "No Event Parking," or you will be ticketed. Please leave your parking permit visible on your dashboard.


This year's conference hotel is the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel in the Denver Tech Center. Rooms can be reserved at a conference rate until Wednesday, July 18th. To make your reservation, please call the hotel at 1-866-698-6656 and ask for the Colorado Council for Teachers of Mathematics group rate.


Lunch details for the 2018 Annual Conference are being worked out, but in addition to any conference-organized lunches there are many lunch options on and around the DU campus:

Restaurants to the east of main campus (near University and Evans)

  • Tokyo Bowl: 2337 E Evans Ave Casual Japanese eatery offering hearty rice & noodle bowls, plus some teriyaki entrees.
  • Ben Jerry’s: 2339 E Evans Ave Next door to Tokyo Bowl. Iconic Vermont-based ice cream parlor chain, known for its creative, cleverly named flavors.
  • Ginza Sushi and Grill: 2104 S University Blvd Sushi, hibachi dishes & other Japanese cuisine in an airy space with a bar & sleek design touches.
  • Qdoba Mexican Eats: 2100 S University Blvd Mexican chain for counter-serve, custom burritos, tacos & more, including health-oriented options.
  • AliBaba Grill: 2060 S University Blvd Next to Four Friends Kitchen. Falafel & other Mediterranean favorites in an eclectic, airy space with a fountain & vivid colors.
  • Asbury Provisions: 2043 S University Blvd Comfort-food classics & craft beers (stouts, wild sours & IPAs) are on offer at this gastropub.
  • Jason’s Thai: 2022 S University Blvd Wide range of Asian fare including extensive sushi menu & bar in modern, wood-toned setting.
  • Crimson and Gold Tavern: 2017 S University Blvd Basic bar catering to a college crowd with sports on TV, drink specials & classic American grub

Restaurants to the west of main campus (near High St. and Evans)

  • Jerusalem restaurant: 1890 E Evans Ave Gyros & falafel satisfy late-night cravings at this long-running Middle Eastern outpost open 24/7
  • Illegal Pete’s: 1744 E Evans Ave Offbeat 3-meal staple supplying burritos & other quick-serve Mexican grub, plus a full bar.
  • Snarfs: 1729 E Evans Ave Branch of a regional chain dispensing hot & cold sandwiches in a simple, counter-serve setting.
  • Spanky's Urban Roadhouse: 1800 E Evans Ave This cozy upscale diner hangout offers elevated pub grub & flatbreads to accompany a full bar.
  • Jelly U Cafe: 1700 E Evans Ave Cheerful, light-filled joint preparing familiar breakfast fare & lunchtime salads & sandwiches.
  • Anthony's Pizza & Pasta: 1628 E Evans Ave Local counter-serve chain that's a take-out/delivery staple for NY-style pies & other Italian eats.

2018 Conference Committee

CCTM also thanks the following people for all their work to make this year's conference happen:

  • Conference Co-Chairs: Tracy Seremak and Liz Zitterkopf
  • Program Co-Chairs: Jen Overley and Annette Zook
  • Exhibits Co-Chair: Jenn Yacoubian and Katie Johnson
  • Communications and Publicity: Raymond Johnson and Jill Rubinstein
  • Registration: Laurie Hillman
  • Awards: Rachael Risley and Diane Weaver